Day 16: No Rain, No Maine

I hike 7 miles North to the next shelter instead of backtracking to town (Franklin, NC).  Its very overcast, steady gusty winds, a bit cold, and almost raining.  Its not really raining, but instead it’s the heaviest misting you’ve ever seen.  So every thing is wet, especially the trees.   The wind constantly shakes the leaves of excess rain.  The final result is that it’s basically raining. 

The guys in the shelter have a radio which makes an easy choice for me not sleep there.   I don’t want my trail memories to be linked to Free Bird, Dirty Deeds, and the like.  Not yet anyways. 

I’ve met many friends on the trail so far.  About every other day I hear a story about one of them has left the trail.  There are many reasons to leave; boredom is one possible reason.  I’m fine, but it makes more sense as I stare at my tent roof.  Its too cold to hike or mingle. 

image

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment